PIDM announces appointment of Dato Sri (Dr) Zukri Samat as Chairman of the Board

Kuala Lumpur, 9 November 2023: Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia (PIDM) today announced the appointment of Dato Sri (Dr) Zukri Samat as the Chairman of its Board of Directors, effective 1 November 2023.

Dato Sri Zukri brings with him a wealth of experience from the financial and Islamic banking sectors particularly in reorganisation and rehabilitation of assets and institutions. He has held several key positions in various organisations, including Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Lembaga Tabung Haji, Managing Director of Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad, Group Chief Executive Officer of BIMB Holdings Berhad and Director of Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri Malaysia (LHDN).  

Dato Sri Zukri was one of the key team members of Pengurusan Danaharta Nasional Berhad (Danaharta) at the height of the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997/1998 where he was instrumental in navigating its loan restructuring and recovery activities. Subsequently, he served as Danaharta’s Managing Director from July 2003 until December 2005.

Other notable positions previously held by Dato Sri Zukri included, Executive Director of Khazanah Nasional Berhad, Executive Committee Chairman of International Centre for Education in Islamic Finance (INCEIF), Director of Malaysia Debt Ventures Berhad, Chairman of Islamic Banking and Finance Institute Malaysia (IBFIM), President of Association of Islamic Banking Institutions Malaysia (AIBIM), Director of Asian Institute of Finance (AIF) and Director of Aafaq Islamic Finance Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

PIDM’s Chief Executive Officer, Rafiz Azuan Abdullah said, “On behalf of the Board and Management of PIDM, we would like to extend our warmest welcome to Dato Sri Zukri as the Chairman of the Board. With his wealth of experience, Dato Sri Zukri will provide invaluable and practical insights especially as PIDM embarks on its resolution planning journey.”

He will succeed Tan Sri Dr Rahamat Bivi Yusoff who retired from the Board.

“We would like to express our sincere gratitude to Tan Sri Dr Rahamat Bivi Yusoff for her immense contribution and support to PIDM as the Chairman of the Board over the past six years. We wish her well and the very best in her future endeavours,” added Rafiz.

With this new appointment, the members of the Board of Directors of PIDM are:
  • Dato Sri Zukri Samat (Chairman)
  • Datuk Shaik Abdul Rasheed Ghaffour (Governor of Bank Negara Malaysia) – ex officio
  • Datuk Johan Mahmood Merican (Secretary General of the Treasury) – ex officio
  • Datuk Dr Yacob Mustafa
  • Dato’ Nor Eni Ismail
  • Dato Dr Nik Ramlah Mahmood
  • Dato’ Dr Gan Wee Beng
  • Ms Gloria Goh
  • Mr Lee Kong Eng

Issued by:
Corporate Communication Department,
Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia.
Share to